How To Read More

I’ve read a lot of books this year. I won’t tell you the exact number (saving that for the end of the year!) but it’s somewhere north of 60 as of the first week in October. It’s a cool achievement (and a lot even by my standards thanks to lockdown), but I also feel like I’m bragging if I tell anyone about it, because a lot of people don’t read as much as perhaps they’d like to.

Research into reading habits shows that in America in 2015, the average number of books read in a year was 12, but that number was inflated by the most avid readers. The most commonly reported number was actually four books a year. A 2019 study based in the UK says that only 51% of adults have read a book in the past year, and 34% of those are ‘heavy readers’ who read more than ten. I’m from a family of bookworms and honestly those numbers startled me! It’s no wonder that people would, apparently, like to read more. But how would we take on such a task?

First up, and despite my attention-grabbing first sentence, it truly doesn’t matter how many books you read. I promise. No one but you cares how many you tally up and tick off in any given time period and even if you read a lot, you don’t have to keep track of that number! It’s not mandatory for a fulfilling life, and you don’t ever have to feel guilty about what you are or aren’t reading.

Also, don’t feel you have to read every single day. Even notorious bookworms like myself take a few days to veg in front of the TV every now and then. If your day has been long and knackering and you’re between books, getting into something new can feel like a chore. It’s OK. Pick something you really fancy, or reread an old favourite, to get yourself back in the swing when you feel ready.

All that being said, if your goal is to read more, I do have a few tips for getting additional books under your belt.

Ask yourself why you’re not desperate to read your current book. If you’ve got one on the go but it’s taking forever, be honest with yourself about why. Sometimes my answer is “it was recommended by someone I love/it’s a classic/it’s something I should want to read, but I don’t”, in which case I’ll put it aside, because life is too short to read books you don’t enjoy. If the answer is “I’m enjoying it but it’s so long and heavy, I can’t read it without dozing off”, I’ll make sure to get it done in the mornings when my brain is refreshed. Sometimes I wail, “life is suddenly busy and I haven’t had time even though I love it!”, so I have to rethink my routine and prioritise this amazing book for a few days. (Often it’s exercising that falls by the wayside. I don’t make the rules.)

Weigh up the value – to you – of what you’re reading. “I generally want to read more” is totally different to “I want to read this specific book at this specific time”. If all you want is to spend more time with your head in a book, it literally does not matter what that book is. No one is going to judge you. Reread something you loved as a kid! Read “trashy” chick lit or Dan Brown or sports biographies! There is a book out there about everything, just waiting for you to enjoy it! If you’re only reading books you think you should be reading, it becomes a chore and that’s the opposite of what reading can be. If I’m bored of everything on my to-read list I go back to Jilly Cooper or Sophie Kinsella because they’re so joyful. Honestly, no one in the world cares.

Don’t finish books that don’t interest you. I won’t dwell on this point as I’ve made it so many times before, but it’s a good rule for life. Don’t waste time on a book you don’t enjoy – you could spend that time relishing something you love. It’s one great reason among many to join your local library; it’s much easier to give up on a book if you haven’t already paid for it.

Try audiobooks and ebooks. This might be the most practical tip on this list. Audiobooks are a brilliant way to read (they absolutely count as reading, you silly!) while doing other things: on your commute, while exercising, cooking or doing other chores. I like to put one on while I journal or do a puzzle, or occasionally to help me fall asleep. If you’re easily distracted, try something you’ve read before; I used to listen to the Alex Rider series while running, because I knew it pretty well and it didn’t matter if I was distracted by how much I struggle with running.

Ebooks are also a fantastic invention. I’m not talking about e-readers like the Kindle, though those are also fab – I mean having a book to hand on your phone at all times. (I get mine through a library app called BorrowBox.) If ever you find yourself out and about with a spare half-hour, but you’ve left your trusty paperback at home, an ebook will save you. I tend to pick non-fiction so I can dip in and out and partake on my lunch break, in a queue, while giving blood – you name it.

Change up what you’re reading, and get excited about it. Reread something you used to love. Try non-fiction. Why not browse the Young Adult section for a change of pace? YA books are often easier to read, but the stories are just as good as (if not better than) a lot of adult literature. Ask friends and family for recommendations, quiz your friendly local librarian, check out blogs (hello!) and BookTubers for things you might like to try. I’ve read a few recs from the Penguin newsletter that I really enjoyed. Remember that your favourite authors have probably brought out something new since you last checked. There’s a whole universe of worlds out there, trapped in books, just waiting for you to let them out. Don’t get stuck on a list of “classics” that you’re only reading out of a sense of obligation.

In summary: ask yourself why, exactly, you want to read more. If it’s only because you think reading is something you should do, you’re always going to resent it. If you’re reading books you should read but don’t love, you’ll struggle through them and resent it. If you love to read but need a little nudge to avoid collapsing in front of crappy TV shows instead, make sure you’re reading books that excite you. Try new formats, authors, styles and genres, and don’t be afraid to hate it and go back to the things you love. Honestly, there’s no wrong way to read. If what you’re doing makes you happy, you’re already winning.

A quick shoutout to the Penguin article How to conquer your to-be-read pile and BookTuber Jack Edward’s video HOW TO READ MORE!! how i read 100 books a year for nudging me to get this post out of my drafts and in front of your eyes. It’s been languishing for a while!

Leave a comment